previous

My Pet Blog
April 17, 2004 - 4:06 p.m.

next

Today is a gorgeous day in sunny Milwaukee...so, of course, I'm hunkered over my computer tweaking my web site. Natch. I'm comforted by the thought that summer is coming and I'll have all too much sun before it's over. For now I have a blog to update.

For those friends of mine unfamiliar with the term "blog," I present a brief definition...Blog is the contraction of "web log." Why the extra syllable of "weh" was deemed superfluous I cannot say. Perhaps as a reflection of how high-paced our world has become it was thought that saying an extra "weh" would just slow things down.

Anyhow, a blog is a sort of online journal (manly men talk not of diaries) and the format has been used for everything from underground journalism to personal publishing of poetry. I've had a blog for almost two years. It's been mostly an exercise in self-satisfaction, with only a handful of readers...now I finally have a decent reason to keep one.

My intention here is that all my friends and family who are so inclined can check in here and find out what I'm up to. I'm not the world's best correspondent to begin with, and I can't imagine that attending Trinity will leave me with loads of spare time to be sending letters and e-mails. This way I can write in one place and update everyone...like an ongoing Christmas form letter.

The other benefit, which I've already discovered with my other diary, is that of keeping a record for myself. It's an excellent place to formulate and express ideas about my current journey.

So two birds, one stone...

I don't expect to be doing much updating right away. This is supposed to be my Trinity/Toronto diary. But do check in whenever you're curious...I'll try to keep something of interest up here!

|