previous

Blog Interrupted
February 07, 2006 - 5:11 p.m.

next

I had an entry all written...it was actually pretty good, I thought. It was about a man who comes to the St. Bart's breakfast. He was very disruptive last week. Today he was docile...eerily so. Someone said he'd taken his meds. It was easier for the servers; we had a much lower stress level. But it seems wrong to drug someone's personality into submission. His eyes were dead, like the ashes of an extinguished fire. Yes, he was less disruptive...but at what price did we purchase peace?

Anyhow, it was a long and involved entry in which I reflected on the theological, social and moral implications of behaviour-controlling drugs. I was very happy with it.

Then my computer froze.

The blasted thing never really recovered from its crash-fest back in November/December. It doesn't just slow down to molasses speed when multitasking...this thing has difficulty unitasking. I couldn't even open Notebook to paste and save the text. Pathetic.

So anyone who wants to send me a couple thousand dollars for a new laptop...

No?

Somehow I thought not. Sigh.

|