previous

Retreats, Both Good And Bad
May 16, 2004 - 4:06 p.m.

next

Yesterday was our Chapter Retreat. I've no idea from whom we were retreating, nor why they were attacking us, but it was a pleasant trip anyhow. We discussed the future of All Saints', and where we think it is/should be going. But primarily we had the chance to better know one another, and to simply relax in the H's beautiful home.

I will hereafter refer to the Dean's wife as "Capability" in honour of her superb landscaping vision. As Elizabeth Bennet notes of Pemberley, "I don't think I've ever seen a place so happily situated." *

Somewhere in the midst of the day's events it occurred to me that I'd not talked to Fr. or Lady T. in a while. My recent workload, coupled with their trip to Bonny Scotland, have passed at least three months without my having the pleasure of their company.

This lead me to realize that, indeed, I've been neglecting a number of friends lately. In fact, I've been rather hermit-like for a while. I wake up, go to work, go to more work, and then get on the computer or phone with a certain Canuck till bedtime. I can't exactly blame myself, since I'm exhausted and I miss my sweetie, but it's not a healthy way to spend the last few months in Milwaukee.

Things ought to be better now, as my job with The Living Church is in full swing and the museum job is done. That was a hectic couple of weeks, eh?

The up side of working so much was that I lost weight. Pants that I'd purchased for a 40" waist are now loose, and my old 38's fit just fine. This is a side-effect I hope to keep...or keep off. It's a pleasant sensation when people ask, "Have you lost weight?"

Anyhow, I plan on making a conscious effort for the summer to better connect with the people around me. As an only child I find it all too easy to retreat into the sanctum sanctorum of my apartment and peer out only through the windows on my computer.

*O.K., it's not a quote from the book...it's from the A&E movie...

|