previous

Sweet Dreams
July 07, 2004 - 1:32 a.m.

next

I don't know why, but for some time now I've been experiencing very vivid and disturbing images as I close my eyes and try to sleep. Images of myself hit by a car...someone running a red light and just wiping me out in the crosswalk. Or of my wrist being broken...no explanation of how with that one, but I can almost hear it snap. Sometimes it's my leg, being crushed just above the ankle.

There's a part of me that's quite certain that a car running a red light is how I'm going to die. A normal day, a routine walk, a screech, the panic of seeing too late, body not able to react, wham. This is not a useful thought at 1:15am. The image flashes through the periphery of my thoughts like lightning across the landscape, freezing the details. Needless to say, sleep is difficult afterward.

There's something buried in there, and an out-of-control car is the best association that my mind can make. I must be deeply worried that I'm about to be flattened...metaphorically speaking, at least.

|