previous

Dude, Sorry I Hurled In Your Tomato Garden!
July 26, 2004 - 9:58 a.m.

next

I was at a party yesterday, and I was hurling. All over the back yard, with a bunch of other people. Hurling for hours. Of course it was the Irish game of hurling, rather than vomiting.

The Littlest Usher had a birthday party, and she invited a load of ushers from the concert hall. It was a fun time...I usually don't say that about parties, but this wasn't a party in the college-party sense. The hurling was all of the sport variety.

The best part was seeing some usher friends who'd left the concert hall a while back. M and D are lovely people - I got to know M pretty well because he was a captain when I was but a lowly usher. He'd stop by while doing his rounds and we had a chance to chat. They'll be taking a bag of dice and little metal gaming figures off my hands...it's like a living will...I can give all these things to people I know will enjoy them!

Yesterday was also my second time as sub-deacon, this time with Fr. T as the celebrant. I fixed the little things that gave me problems last time, and it went quite smoothly. I look forward to my next chance, on August 8th...I'm hoping I'll have relaxed into it enough to enjoy the worship rather than focusing on what I might be screwing up.

|