previous

Mundane Notes, Respiratory Issues and a Silly Show
September 25, 2004 - 8:01 p.m.

next

Oofdah. So much reading. I'm staying caught up, but just...talk to me during reading week.

Amy is finally finishing up at the dirty cirque. Her bike got a flat tire the other day, so she's walking to work...not a short distance, so I'm going down to walk her home. The route home isn't dangerous, but it's a bit sketchy.

I've had my first official adventures on the subway...one morning the power was out and we sat in the Dundas West station for some time, getting hot and ornery. Another time the train I was on was making odd thumping noises and everyone was told to get off at Ossington station. The platform was packed, wall to wall to precipitous drop onto the tracks with people. Another train was right behind but so loaded already that only a handful of us managed to squeeze on. The conductor chirped over the speakers, "If you can't get on, don't you fret, there's another train right behind me!" Don't you fret, indeed.

Meanwhile my cough has turned into something rather unpleasant...I had an asthma-like attack yesterday. Fun! So now I have an inhaler, courtesy of the Canadian health-care system...thanks, Canada!

It was a scary thing, since I knew full well what it was but had no idea how it was going to feel and turn out. For those who've never had the dubious pleasure, it feels like you're going to vomit...that sensation of something rising in your throat is really your air passage closing up. This is accompanied by a desperate gulp for air, with a strange swallowing, gasping action.

The doctor told me what I already knew, that asthma-like attacks can come with a viral infection. I felt utterly silly sitting there, since I felt just fine when I went in...but better to be ready, eh? I'm supposed to take so many "puffs" a day. It somehow sounds like illicit drug use. "Hold on, man, I gotta puff up."

Oh, the adventure. I can smell your excitement from here.

In entertainment news, I've discovered a very silly and fun cartoon show...Angela Anaconda. I can't really describe it...it's offbeat, odd, adorable, bizarre.

This has not been one of my more inspired entries. My apologies.

|