previous

Meeting of the Mums
October 12, 2004 - 7:28 p.m.

next

I'm back from a brief absence during a lovely Thanksgiving visit by my mum...I'm back now, and will be updating on my normal schedule. Which means rarely.

Amy and I showed my mum about TO, and she met Amy's parents...we all trooped down to Hometown for Thanksgiving dinner. Overall it was a less stressful Meeting of the Mums than I thought it might be. They both enjoy gardening, and Amy's mum gave mine a tour of her work in progress.

There was just one moment of angst for Amy and I. On the way back to TO (Amy's parents gave us a ride) our mothers got into a conversation about weddings. Yes, that's right...talk about weddings the first time you meet and while Amy and I are trapped in the car, Amy sitting between you. No pressure, just a friendly chat...about weddings.

Other than mothers discussing weddings, the only drawback to the visit is that I'm exhausted. We walked all over TO and got little sleep all weekend. Mum's plane left at 9:30am today, which meant getting up at 6am to get her to the airport on time. So I'm pooped.

And I'm sick. Again. I'm sick and tired of being sick and tired. In all fairness, Amy is more sick, although slightly less tired.

What a power couple, eh?


One advantage to our doing so poorly in the Olympics* is that Team Canada gear is going cheap at the Roots store! I bought a very nice t-shirt for a measly $10...Canadian! Way to go, Team Canada!

* By "our" doing poorly I of course mean Canada. Now there are some who'll say, "You're not Canadian, you're a Yank!" To that I say, "I've eaten so many Tim Horton's donuts that yes, I Am Canadian!" Or, to paraphrase Terence, "Canadian sum: Canadian nil a me alienum puto." Or, for my Qu�b�cois following, "Je suis un Canadien, ainsi rien Canadien n'est �trange � moi."

And yes...I'm being a Canadian snob.

|