previous

Stress Relief, Mine and Carolyn's
November 19, 2004 - 3:54 p.m.

next

What a difference a schedule makes. While I'm still keeping an eye on my stress level (which certainly won't be dropping too low as we approach exams) I've found that some minute scheduling has considerably reduced my anxiety. Going beyond a simple list of things that need doing, I've actually plotted out - hour by hour - when I'll write what paper, study for what test and read what books. It's probably the only way to survive the avalanche of reading and writing I have to do.

Speaking of stress relief...

In political news, MP (Member of Parliament, my American friends) Carolyn Parrish has been "turfed" (as the media is saying) from the Liberal Party. Her crime? She's highly vocal and highly critical of George W. Bush. She's called him "warlike," referred to his Iraq invasion alliance as a "coalition of idiots" and to his Dubyaness as a "moron." Tonight she'll appear on a comedy show grinding her heel into a Dubya doll.

Paul Martin (the Prime Minister, my Yankee readers) has long put up with this because a) what she says is true, b) most Canadians agree with her assessment of King George the Lesser and c) Martin is sitting on a razor-thin minority government which can't afford to lose any MP's. But when Ms. Parrish publicly stated that she has no loyalty to Martin's gang and that she could care less if he was re-elected next time 'round...well, enough was enough.

The question is...will it really matter to her? A hasty poll in her riding (a term I just won't bother defining) suggests that if there was an election tomorrow Parrish would be re-elected as an independent. More importantly, shouldn't someone in public office be pointing out that Bush is insane? Even if it's someone from another country. We can't just leave the public discourse up to Boy George and The Boondocks. I hate to see someone punished for standing up to Curious George. Someone has to, eh?

|