previous

Round Two Begins and I Gloat
January 05, 2005 - 12:55 a.m.

next

Classes have started up again...I had Pastoral Care yesterday, and today it was back to Old Testament (a year-long course with a prof I really enjoy) and the first day of Systematic Theology.

The OT professor is a youngish guy, very energetic. He leaps around the Bible, pulling together common threads and making connections that leave the class with a "wow, of course" sort of feeling. It's exhilarating, and I'm always ready for that class.

Systematic Theology is taught by one of the funniest, most intelligent people I've ever met. He's staunchly Anglo-catholic and makes no excuses for the fact that in his class we will be learning catholic theology (small "c" catholic, which simply means those things that are universal and without which one can't really call one's self Christian). I sat in class half way between awe and amusement, my fingers flying to type notes.

Yes...I take my laptop to class. I've been a computer geek for so long now that I can type twice as fast as I can write. Besides, it makes studying for exams a lot easier. Want to find your notes on the Robber Council? Just use the "Find" function. The only drawback (aside from the weight) is when the prof starts making charts and diagrams on the board, though I have become quite creative with "Insert Table," and I can always switch to paper for those bits.

Today I got a couple of last term's papers back, both A's, and have discovered that I passed an oral exam "with distinction." Myself and two others in class. What that means, exactly, is beyond me. I didn't think I'd done all that well, actually, since I'd been so busy writing papers that I had little time to study. Maybe the distinction is that I stunk, which I'd be ready to believe but for the fact that the other two students are quite knowledgeable. I can't see them stinking so I guess neither did I. I'm chalking it up to divine intervention.

|