previous

Sunny Tuesday
March 16, 2005 - 11:51 a.m.

next

Tuesdays are my favourite days, at least as far as classes are concerned. I have Old Testament, which I've already mentioned on this page as a fascinating class, and Systematic Theology.

Systematic Theology is taught by a brilliant, slightly odd man who has the sharpest sense of humour I've ever encountered in a prof. I could sit there for hours, basking in hero-worship. He's enormously fun to listen to.


Toronto might finally be getting out from under the snow. Maybe. It was a lovely spring day yesterday, and is again today. But we've been here before, only to be socked with another seven or eight feet of snow...so I'm cautious.

The streetcar was lovely yesterday...the cold wind was held outside, the sun was streaming in through the windows. There's a kind of warm that only comes from sitting in the sun on a cool day. It's different than the warm from a hot bath, or from a fire, or from snuggling under the covers. It feels at once external and internal, like we're meant to be in it.

I think that's how we experience God. A warm sensation that feels completely right. Sun on a cool day. When we're out in the wind, the sometimes cruel world, we don't always notice the sun. But if it wasn't there we'd be a whole lot colder.

|