previous

Counting My Blessings
April 14, 2005 - 3:57 p.m.

next

Today I wrote my final final of the term...Christian Apologetics (Sorry! So sorry! I'm sorry.) I also handed in a 14 page take-home exam for New Testament (everything but the gospels) and earlier this week I handed in a 12 page exam for Systematic Theology.

My eyes are starting to bleed, staring at this computer.

After handing in my exam I stopped at the Bursar's office to polish off the last of my tuition. $48.76 Canadian. (After having paid approx. $12,000 US.) I left the Bursar's and strolled down the hall to the chapel.

Sun streamed through the huge windows and lit up the white marble and granite walls. That chapel is really something to see on a sunny day. I sat in the back and let out a deep sigh. I made it through my first year.

As I sat there it occurred to me, as it has many times this year...I've been richly blessed. Here I am in a beautiful place, studying theology, with every opportunity to preach and get involved in church life. I have witty and caring fellow students, professors who range from sharp to brilliant...and most of all a relationship with a wise, intelligent and beautiful woman.

Yeah, money is tight. Sure, the church has its problems right now (when has it not?) I could be thinner, handsomer, smarter. But on the curve, my life right now is pretty dang good.

I have been richly blessed, indeed.

|