previous

Empty Calendar, Empty Head
April 16, 2005 - 9:44 p.m.

next

I have entered post-term shut down. Having handed in the last assignment and taken the last exam, my brain has switched off. This has manifested itself in my having no idea what tomorrow's schedule looks like, making me useless when friends call to find out the skinny.

Amy and I are going to her Hometown tomorrow, to attend a performance of...something...it's not quite an opera, but it's a classical music setting of the Book of Ruth. There are singers involved, but we don't think it's staged...so I don't quite know what to call it. A non-staged, operatic symphony? Thingy?

Anyhow, I lead a Ruth Bible study in Hometown with Amy's brother and sister-in-law. We spent so much time with Ruth that this will be a nice capping-off event, a revisiting of the story as a story rather than picking it apart to find inner meaning.

Because Ruth is a great story. Really, it's beautifully written, and extremely well constructed. I'd go so far as to recommend it to people who've never read the Bible before...or at least who've never read any Old Testament. It's four short chapters, and has some great characters.

The point being, even though Amy asked for my input in planning the trip to Hometown, and even though I'm sure I provided that input, my brain has ceased to function and I've no idea what we're doing. I've become that boyfriend...the one who just follows his girlfriend about, lost and smiling.

Ah. Ignorance is bliss.

|