previous

Diocese Dreaming
April 27, 2005 - 2:31 p.m.

next

I'm the kind of guy who plans in advance. Way, way in advance. Sometimes my planning veers into daydreaming, which is really just planning for unlimited contingencies. A lot of people frown on daydreaming, but it does have its place...I've made many a plan for my eventual parish, based letting my mind wander through permutations of ideas.

Last night I planned what classes to take next year. That's four months before classes start and about three before I can even sign up for anything. Not only that, I'm planning when I can write papers, when I'll be in chapel and what days I can sleep in.

And I'm not done there. I'm also still looking past graduation, for a diocese in which to hang my hat. I had a meeting with the Dean of Trinity yesterday...he brought out a map of Canada and gave me the skinny on every diocese out there. He started in Newfoundland and went all the way to B.C., and while it was a whirlwind tour it gave me a much better idea of the face of the church.

So now I'm making a list, checking it twice, and comparing notes with Amy. Out of this I've made a list of dioceses, and I'll start applying this summer. But first there's a lot of official paperwork that needs to get done...reports from Trinity, background checks, letters of reference, etc. It'll take some time to assemble.

So in the meantime, I'll daydream about life in the Maritimes, on the Prairies, or in a big-city parish.

|