previous

Noodles and Nonsense
May 13, 2005 - 2:32 p.m.

next

So I was trying to make tuna casserole. I say trying...I did end up making it, and it turned out quite well, but it Canadian Contrabandwasn't the recipe I wanted to use. The problem is that the recipe I wanted to use involves an ingredient apparently unknown in Canada.

Perhaps my Canuck readers can help me...do you know what I'm talking about when I say that I want a can of fried chow mein noodles? In the States you can find a can like this in just about any grocery store. Have you seen such a thing here in Canada? I ask because whenever I mention it to a Canadian they look at me like I'm asking where to find the pickled hippopotamus testicles.


A belated, but no less disgusted, reaction to the idiocy in Waynesville, NC, where a Baptist minister led a vote to expel congregants who didn't support President Bush in the 2004 election. It seems that God is now at the service of the GOP, and Jesus can only be worshipped from the "right" point of view.

This goes beyond disgusting. To actually expel fellow Christians from the church over politics, to deny the unity of the Body of Christ in favour of political opinion, suggests that this "minister" is worshipping George W. Bush instead of Christ. If the Baptist church has any integrity at all, this creep will be out of church leadership at the earliest possible opportunity.

|