previous

Words and Wildlife
May 17, 2005 - 12:26 a.m.

next

I'm beginning my book project...it's geared toward kids, so I'm looking through my old children's books for age-appropriate vocabulary. One wants to communicate essential notions like salvation and imminence, but in words a 7 year-old can understand...

Speaking of kids, Amy and I went to the zoo today where a lot of the animals had babies.

Baby Goat

Not the big Toronto Zoo...the tiny little "what on earth is this?" zoo in High Park, just a few blocks west of Roncesvalles. It's mostly herd animals, goats and bison and llamas (do llamas travel in herds?) with some peacocks thrown in for good measure. Actually, peafowl, peacock being the male of the species and the peahen the female. The High Park Zoo has both.

There are also a number of uninvited guests, such as an industrious groundhog who looked as if he'd been put in charge of fixing up the goats' shed, and a crazy tailless black squirrel.

Crazy

Black squirrels are nuts. Crazy. Whacko. And Toronto's full of them. My Canadian Connection informs me that if you pause under a tree in a Toronto park, a black squirrel will probably drop onto your head and knit a sweater out of your hair. They love sweaters.

|