previous

Slave to Fashion
June 06, 2005 - 5:33 p.m.

next

Coming down from our wild party, I've come to realize that 21C is not a good thing...not for this cool cat. Give me my winter back, please. Seriously, this is Canada. Where's the snow?

Actually, the difficulty comes more from my wardrobe than the thermometer. Somewhere during the school year I finally wore a hole through my sandals. Shopping for new shoes, I elected to buy something a bit more grown up...the basic brown shoe. You know the one. The slightly clunky, functional, slip on but not a loafer, brown shoe. Leather clogs, really. They look great with jeans or khakis.

They don't look so great with shorts.

So here I sit, barefoot. It's too hot to go to the store wearing long pants, but I'd look a fool walking down the street in shorts and clogs. I'm trapped by the weather and my own stringent (if limited) fashion sense.

O.K., so it's just heat-induced laziness. But sticking to my fashion guns makes me sound all hip...pathetic, but hip.

|