previous

Sounds and Foul Airs That Give Hurt and Delight Not
June 16, 2005 - 9:45 p.m.

next

I had a meeting this morning with the area bishop...I think it went well.

I say "I think" because he's an extremely gifted pastoral care kind of guy. You can't be certain if he's actually interested and enthusiastic or is just being a good pastor.

This is the voice of paranoia, and that way lies madness.

Speaking of madness, I also attended the first day of a conference which is basically aimed (though they don't put this in the press releases) at building an alternative structure to the Anglican Church of Canada. I was just there as a reporter, so please don't kill the messenger...though there was a sort of bizarre fascination to it all.

Highlights included:

  • Liberal theologians compared to the wicked sea creature Caliban (from Shakespeare's The Tempest) while conservatives were Miranda - an innocent victim of "a litany of betrayal and deceit." Gets us all off on the right foot, eh?

  • Another speaker announcing that communion with the Archbishop of Canterbury is an obstacle to unity. Really.

  • Hearing that homosexuals and those who support same-sex blessings "will not inherit the kingdom of God." On the bright side, neither will we have to deal with probate.

  • The conference's big-shot theological star saying, "I have no time, friends, for liberal theology." There goes the discussion, hoist with the petard of partisan ideology.

  • Pre-convention worship-tainment which included the lyrics "Come just as you are before your God." Unless you're gay, that is.

  • My favourite lyrics..."One day every tongue will confess you're God, one day every knee will bow. Still, the greatest treasure remains for those, who gladly choose you now." So much for the last being first. (Matthew 20:1-16) And a good reason to follow Jesus, huh? For the "gimmie." Sure, everyone will be there, but I was in first and I get the biggest slice of cake!

  • Getting wildly different head counts from the conference media guy and the door usher...who was holding a clicker and counting people. But then I suppose that's what media guys do. You spin me right 'round baby, right round.

Ah, the politics of church. Makes you want to be an anchorite, eh?

NOTE: About the title...see also The Tempest, IIIii, right near the end.

|