previous

Belated Birthday
July 05, 2005 - 1:03 p.m.

next

It wasn't until late last night that I realized...it was the 4th of July. When your Mondays look very much like your Thursdays, there's little need to check the calendar. And when you're not surrounded by red, white and blue bunting...well...it's just not on your mind.

Something similar happened when I visited England a few years ago. I was wandering through the streets of Chichester (lovely little city, that) when I realized...I'd entirely forgotten about my birthday. Of course nobody in England knew it was my birthday and unless I get cards in the mail I forget it, too.

My birthday, America's birthday. I'm generally not so good about remembering birthdays.

The weather today is just miserable - clouds and smog and heat and humidity. You get all the health benefits of a hot and humid day, with none of the sun. Ah, the GTA. We're thinking of renaming the seasons...Autumn, Winter, Spring, Smog Advisory.

|