previous

Stumbling About
August 26, 2005 - 11:09 a.m.

next

Such a bad idea. I have found something so bad for me. StumbleUpon.com.

It's a surfing service of sorts. Signing up gives you a new toolbar. Yes, a lot of these "helpful" toolbars are little more than spyware. This isn't, or at least none of my anti-spyware software thinks it is. This toolbar has a button - "Stumble." Clicking that button takes you to a random web site, based on interests that you select when you sign up. The sites are all submitted, all of them have gotten an "I like it!" rating (another button on the toolbar) from another stumbler.

Of course, some sites have been shamelessly self-promoted by their owners (a-hem) but still...you can waste a whole lot of time stumbling around the internet.

I need someone to come and unplug my computer now.

|