previous

It's a Bird! It's a Plane!
September 06, 2005 - 11:42 p.m.

next

Joy of joys, school is in and the air show is over! The neighbourhood is silent once more...or at least now it's back to making its own noise. I snapped this blurry photo on my way to High Park. It makes me appreciate all those fuzzy shots of "flying saucers." I still think they're fake, but boy is it hard to catch a fast-flying object.

I went to High Park to take advantage of the (finally) nice weather. Let me qualify - nice to me means not hot. What most of North America calls a beautiful summer day is, to me, a melting and sweaty death. Maybe I just sweat a lot, but I dislike the feeling of soggy drawers. So I haven't been going bird watching in High Park lately, but yesterday was nice and cool.

What a difference a summer makes. When I last ventured out to snap bird pictures, back in late May, there were birds dripping from the trees. Now...not so much. I walked clear through the park before seeing so much as a feather. When I did it was on the wings of what I think was a Hairy Woodpecker. He kept moving about, and my digital camera has the reflexes of a drunken 90 year-old tree sloth. All I caught on film was shots of bark where the woodpecker had been tapping moments earlier.


And orientation week began today. Oh, I do so love being back to school!

|