previous

Smells, Bells and Sleep
September 08, 2005 - 9:52 p.m.

next

Oy. So tired. My body has that heavy floating feeling...do you know what I mean? Your limbs tingle and ache and you can hardly move them, and yet they feel as if they could just float away. This is the result of leaving the house at 7a.m. and getting home at 10p.m. Add to this three nights laying awake, worrying about this and that, and you get one very pooped Aaron.

The good news is that what I was mostly worrying about has now passed. Today Trinity hosted our arch-rival*, Wycliffe College, for the Eucharist and lunch. I was asked to plan the liturgy, which is already tricky. Trinity worships with a lot more ceremony than Wycliffe...we use the smells and bells. On top of this, today was the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Anglo-catholics are usually quite fond of Mary...evangelical Anglicans, not so much.

I wanted to honour Our Lady, but not needlessly offend our guests. I hope we succeeded. We did swing smoke, we did ring the Sanctus bells. But I also invited three Wycliffe students to participate in the liturgy (including writing and leading the prayers of the people), and the preacher was a prof who teaches for both schools. I think we probably horrified some, amused others and essentially lived up to everyone's expectations.

And now orientation week is finally over. It was exhausting, but very fulfilling. I hope the new first-years feel welcome. They seem like a good group, and there are already friendships apparent both within their class and among the other years.

And now I am going to bed, and I will sleep till noon...at least.

* When I say arch-rival, it's both good-natured and deeply bitter. The two schools embrace very different theologies and liturgical styles, but both know that the church is big enough for both. Still, Divs at both schools call Hoskin Avenue the widest street in Toronto.

|