previous

The Lady or the Honours Thesis?
September 19, 2005 - 12:04 p.m.

next

If only I had more time...and more brain. There are a number of classes I'd love to take, but I just don't have the schedule availability, nor the mental capacity to do the extra work.

And so, after my first week back, I'm trying to decide what to cut and what to keep. Do I take the purely elective church architecture class, attractive to me because it was architecture that first brought me back to church? Or do I go with the history course that will go toward my requirements?

I need a certain number of electives, and the history course will be offered next year. I could fill an elective slot by taking the church architecture class. But if I want to write an honours thesis in my third year I'll need four electives in the thesis subject (Bible, Theology, Pastoral, History). The architecture class is listed as pastoral (though it could as well be theological) and if I do write a thesis it'll be in theology or Bible.

Do I even want to write an honours thesis? It's essentially only good for coming back to do doctoral work, and I'm not so keen on being an academic. I want to get out and do.

Is this as mind-numbing to you as it is to me?

|