previous

Smoke: Swinging and Breathing
September 26, 2005 - 1:07 a.m.

next

Today I went to a new church for church. Second term will be spent in a field placement, and I'm searching about for a good fit. One of the parishes on my short list is St. Matthias, a small Anglo-catholic church not too far from home.

The liturgy at St. Matthias is high but relaxed. They swing smoke and ring the Sanctus bells, but it's not as solemn as at All Saints'. This is entirely natural, since the church itself is on the small side...it would be weird to act as if you're in a huge cathedral when the congregation is fifteen feet away.

I liked the worship style...it felt comfortable. Some of the music was unfamiliar, and I haven't the skill to sing through when I don't know where I'm going, but that comes with time. So long as the diocese and my field-ed director agree, I think I've found a home.


A couple days ago I made salsa. I like making it myself...it's fresh, I know what's in it and I can make it as hot as I like. This batch was very hot, indeed. Wrath of God hot. Perhaps adding an entire jalapeno pepper was not prudent, but at least it cut through Amy's head cold. She can't taste anything else, but she can taste my salsa.

That's actually a common result of eating my salsa...sort of overpowering.

For those who fancy a DIY dip, the recipe is below. I make it all by hand, chopping with a knife because I haven't a blender. In a way that contributes to the recipe - it keeps it chunky, rather than smoothing it into a paste. If you use a blender, don't make a paste of the ingredients.

Aaron's "Wrath of God" Salsa

2 - 4 tomatoes (about 3 cups chopped)
1/4 cup minced red onion
1 clove of garlic
1 jalapeno pepper
1 tsp. chilli powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 T. lemon juice

Use a knife to mince the onion, garlic and jalapeno pepper. Make the garlic and pepper as small as you can get them. Dice the tomatoes until they're a bit mashed. Mix everything together in a Tupperware container, seal it tight and shake it like a paint stirring machine. If you leave it sit in the fridge for a while, even over night, the flavours will combine very nicely.

The jalapeno pepper seeds can be held out for milder salsa...left in they make it quite hot. These should be taken out before you go mincing things, of course.

A lot will depend on how hot your jalapeno pepper is, but adding or withholding the seeds makes a big difference.

|