previous

The Royal Them
September 29, 2005 - 3:04 p.m.

next

Sitting on the subway today I was privy to this conversation...

Old Lady 1: Well, she certainly doesn't represent me. Why did they have to choose one of them?

Old Lady 2: Look at the country, though. There are more and more of them.

Old Lady 1: And our taxes keep going up to support them. I wish they'd get jobs.

Old Lady 2: There should be some sort of program to get them jobs, and some education.

Old Lady 1: I just don't like her representing me to the Queen.

GGSo yes, one does expect a certain amount of racism from certain generations. The world has changed and people don't always want to change with it. Canada is no longer just English and French...distinct society my butt. Canada is a spectrum of humanity, and it just so happens that a non-white member of that spectrum is now living at Rideau Hall. How Old Lady 1 saw our former GG, Hong Kong born Adrienne Clarkson, as any different is beyond me.

But this is almost secondary to the fundamental mistake made by Old Lady 1. The Governor General doesn't represent Canada to the Queen. Sure she makes state visits (at the request of the PM), but that's not her fundamental role in relation to the Queen. Rather, the GG represents the Queen to Canada. When she shows up at an official state event, she does so in the Queen's stead. Glamorous, elegant, sexy, French-speaking, Haitian born Micha�lle Jean now represents the slightly frumpy, boxy dress and hat wearing, very white and stiff Elizabeth II*.

So put that in your Anglo-Saxon pipe and smoke it.

* NOTE: Don't take my description of her Dread Britannic Majesty, Queen Elizabeth, second of that name, as an indication of dislike or disregard. I'm quite fond of the frumpy old gal. Despite her unfortunate family, and questionable choice of husbands, she's a steadfast and dignified presence and I'm proud to live in this corner of her realm.

|