previous

Out of Ordo
October 05, 2005 - 10:56 p.m.

next

For those who think the Church today is too strict...

Then a district subdeacon...goes out to the gate of the sacristy and says "The Choir." They answer, "I am present." Then he asks, "Who is going to sing the psalm?" and they answer, "So-and-so and so-and-so." Then the subdeacon returns to the pontiff...bowing himself to the pope's knees and says, "My lord's servants, so-and-so the district-subdeacon will read the epistle and so-and-so of the choir will sing." And after this no change may be made in either reader or singer; but if this should be done, the ruler of the choir shall be excommunicated by the pontiff."

-- Ordo Romanus Primus, late 7th century

Imagine the poor ruler of the choir when that question comes up. "Oh, Steve and Larry...NO, Bob! NO...it's Larry...I think. Wait! No, it's Hank. Don't go! Let me double check! Come back!"

I now know more than I ever wanted to about the Ordo Romanus Primus. You want to know which direction the pope faced when he prayed the collect? I can tell you...and I can tell you why he might be facing the wall at the time. Want to know when the peace is exchanged? Which one? The pope exchanges some version of the peace three times in this rite. Curious about that line of subdeacons standing on the other side of the altar during the consecration? So am I...there ought to be no earthly reason for them to be there.

The problem is, this rite has been out of use for some 1200 years. I've been writing a paper on it, and I'd love to just be able to go and watch the darn thing as it happens.

Where's Mr. Peabody when you need him?

|