previous

Survey Says!
October 28, 2005 - 4:36 p.m.

next

O.K., another clue about our vacation...

Tick Tock

Any guesses?


I was at a retirement home today (scouting potential homes for myself?) to conduct a survey for St. Anne's. The basic question was what interest, or lack of interest, in pastoral care do the residents have? Are they being looked after by their own parish priests/pastors? Would they be interested in having someone visit, or in special services around holidays such as Thanksgiving, Remembrance Day, etc.?

I fared about as well as could be expected, getting about a dozen responses and a lot of blank stares. I'm afraid a fair portion of the "no, thank you" crowd simply avoided me, which is unfortunate. If they really don't want anyone coming about to visit they should let us know. If only church-goers answer the survey the results will be skewed to look like the whole building is crazy for a priest to come calling. Oh, well.

I did get one fellow who sought me out, and it was clear that he liked ruffling feathers. He took as many opportunities as he could to tell me that he was an atheist and that he hated the church. Well, so did I for many years. I think he was disappointed that I wasn't offended.

|