previous

Aaron Potter and the Synod of Food
November 18, 2005 - 11:21 p.m.

next

Amy and I joined the ranks of geeks and went to see Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire at one minute past midnight last night.

Heh.

It's a wild movie. Yes, a lot darker than the previous films. (Why this is such a story is beyond me. The books get darker as they progress and the films follow the books. The story wouldn't be very interesting if it stayed sunny and safe, now would it?) It's also a lot more episodic, jumping from one frenzy of action to another. It starts with the same scene as the book, which is evenly paced, but it leaps into high gear from there...and it doesn't stop till the credits roll.

Amy made a good point...if you haven't read the fourth book, the movie will make no sense at all. Even if you've seen the previous three, it's just so much information, so fast. I, of course, am a big fat dork, so I liked it.

I did not like waking up today to go to the Diocese of Niagara's General Synod. I sat at the Trinity table, answered questions and handed out literature...why I decided to volunteer for that and go to the midnight showing of HP4 is beyond me. Silly man.

But I am glad I went. It gave me a chance to see more people from the diocese and to represent Trinity. We probably didn't get any new students (the convention was mostly priests and while a few picked up advanced degree info it was more interest than action) but it's good to put in an appearance and let the diocese know that we're here. Good to show up and tell them that we think they're important, with the implication that they ought to think we are, too.

Besides, there was free lunch and dinner.

|