previous

Redesigning Witness
December 02, 2005 - 1:31 p.m.

next

Wow. Thanks to y'all my little blog has made it into the second round of voting for Best Religious Blog in the 2005 Canadian Blog Awards! Thank you!

Voting for round two will begin tomorrow, Saturday, December 3rd and it will run through the 9th. You can Canadian Blog Awards vote once a day. (I'm listed as "Aaron's Head.")

Meanwhile, in class life, I'm working on a project for Shaping Space for Worship...it's a course about church buildings, which is very important to me since it was beautiful architecture that first brought me back to church. The assignment is to redesign one of the college chapels on the UofT campus. We're all redesigning the same chapel according to different ministry styles...I've been assigned "Witness."

Witness is simply making the church's presence visible in the world. A church steeple, for instance, is an example of witness...so is a large clear-glass window that allows people to see what's happening. Neither of these work very well in the given building. Poo.

Still, it's fun to play with a building and actually put into practice some of the principles we've been working on. I've always enjoyed architecture...mostly day-dreaming about how to make a building do something it wasn't designed to do, so this project is right up my alley.

I just wish I had a bit more time to go down that alley.

|