previous

Taking Wing, So To Speak
December 11, 2005 - 2:06 p.m.

next

My time at St. Anne's is coming to a close. I'll be preaching Christmas Eve and Christmas Day (same sermon, since I'll be one of maybe three people who'll attend both) and then I'm finished. I'll miss it; it was a good parish and the people are lovely. But it's time to move on and learn from another situation.

Pine Grosbeak I thinkVery good news in the bird world. After a summer of rejection from our feathered friends, I decided to again try hanging the bird feeder. Maybe a few inches of snow will change their minds. For a couple days, nothing...then today, when I came home from church - loads of birds!

We have what I think is a pair of Pine Grosbeaks, some House Finches, Sparrows and, joy of joys, a Cardinal. Not that he can eat out of this feeder. CardinalIt's too small, so he just hangs around looking noble...and hungry. I'd get a larger feeder, but I've learned my lesson when it comes to feeding birds in the city...anything big enough to serve a Cardinal is big enough to be raided by Pigeons. I tried adding a large bird feeder when I lived in Milwaukee and the Pigeons became such a nuisance that the landlord insisted I take down both of my feeders. No good telling him that the little one was Pigeon-proof.

Of course, I'm not the only member of the household interested in what's happening around the bird feeder.

Hongry Cat

Sybil thinks that the feeder has been put there just for him and his amusement. Fortunately, he's a rather dim-witted cat and has the attention span of a fruit fly. He's already forgotten that there's a show on, and is slumbering away in another room.

|