previous

Parishes and Programs
December 29, 2005 - 10:35 p.m.

next

Another day, another dashed hope. I called a nearby parish that looked hopeful, but the rector already has two students this coming term. No answer from other calls or from the e-mails I sent out. With many clergy taking post-Christmas breaks this is going to be difficult, and the placement is supposed to start in a week...

Let me know when I should start worrying.

Meanwhile I've been enjoying the forced down time by watching TV shows on DVD...my mum gave me season four of Frasier and Amy gave me season three, plus the first season of Corner Gas. This way we can watch only good TV, with no commercials. Ideal, that is.

For you yanks, I highly recommend Corner Gas. It's absolutely charming...the characters are people you know, people you've met over coffee or seen at the bar. The writing is good, the casting great, and you'll learn something about your neighbours.

Of course, you might have to scrounge to get a copy...they're rare in the states. Maybe try the Canadian Amazon, eh? They'll probably mail over the border.

Tomorrow I think I'll start a writing project, just to keep my wits about me. Or, rather, to get my wits back.

|