previous

Hot Babes, Hot Breakfast
January 17, 2006 - 3:04 p.m.

next

Amy and I went for a walk yesterday...two hours was perhaps a bit much, but it did feel good. We walked all through High Park and then down Roncesvalles. Then we stopped in for coffee and nosh, erasing any weight loss we might have accomplished.

We also went to a movie...Pride and Prejudice. Not the big famous miniseries, but the new Keira Knightly one. It was very good, though I'm still loyal to the BBC version. Of course you make a different movie when it's two hours than you do when it's six. Donald Sutherland was an interesting choice for Mr. Bennet...not who I'd have cast, but I did like what he did with it. Still, I prefer Benjamin Whitrow.

Though one thing I will say...this new version is a lot hotter, at least in the babe department. Keira Knightly...dang! (Can a priest say that?)

The long walk and movie got me good and tired, which was a good thing since I had to go to bed early to wake up at 3:15 a.m.. Did you hear that? A.M.!!! I've never seen 3:15 a.m. from that side before. I never knew you could start then.

The trip to St. Bart's involved a lot of waiting...they don't run many streetcars at 3:30 a.m. Thankfully there's an ATM foyer at the Dundas St. stop. I was able to stand in warm comfort to watch for the coming 505.

When I arrived Fr. M was already setting up, with the help of a crew of former street people who have made good. I slipped in, helping to prepare the meat and cook up a pile of pancakes. We must have served over a hundred people, and I'm told it was a slow day. Eggs, bacon, pancakes, cereal, juice, coffee...pasta, macaroni and cheese, potato-stuffed ham, chunks of roast beef and potatoes...whatever we had to serve. So long as it was hot they'd eat it, and so long as it was good for them we'd serve it.

It was a good experience...we saw people who otherwise wouldn't eat, or at least wouldn't eat half as well. We filled their plates and bellies with a good, hot breakfast. Everyone could come back as many times as they wanted...one guy must have eaten 28 eggs. He didn't care for pancakes or meat of any kind. He just ate eggs...plate after plate of eggs.

Now I am so tired, I will be going to the Bed of the Sleeping.

|