previous

Bulking Up for Birds
February 26, 2006 - 7:44 p.m.

next

I went to buy birdseed today. I wanted a medium-ish bag (medium-ish?) of black oil sunflower seeds. Something small enough to fit on top of the cupboard. A bag that size would last the birds for weeks...months...and it'd be nicely out of the way up there.

It seems that either I'm the only guy on Roncesvalles who's feeding birds or I'm one of many. Either way, there are no middle-size bags of black oil sunflower seeds in any of the shops. My choices were a tiny seed bell which would last two days and a huge, feed-store style bag that could feed the neighbourhood birds for the next six years.

Having looked up and down the street I figured it was a wash and that I'd have to wait until I could get to a larger store.

Then the coldest day in weeks...months...hit Toronto. I didn't want to leave the birds, who have become accustomed to the free food, with nothing to eat during a ferocious cold snap.

I was also getting a bit tired of the dirty looks the birds were giving me.

So now there's an enormous bag of sunflower seeds in the corner. It cut the floor space in the kitchen by about 15%, but at least it's economical to buy in bulk. Besides, Sybil is happy...the Bird Show is his favourite program.

|