previous

All the News That's Fit to Summarize
March 21, 2006 - 6:49 p.m.

next

Just to restate what I said a while ago...I am 40 percent happier riding in the front of the streetcar. Sadly this is not always possible.

The weekend was an eventful one. In fact, it was so eventful that I can't begin to describe it here, so I'll just give you some bullet highlights...


  • My Sunday sermons went pretty well. I preached two different homilies (on the same gospel) without notes, having practiced a couple times at home...on the cat. Sybil may not have theological subtlety, but he's a harsh critic anyhow. Meow.

  • My Sunday Lenten study class turned into a near shouting match over liturgical renewal and Canada's Book of Alternative Services. I was not the shouter. That honour fell to a gentleman who wants Anglicanism to be something it is not - monolithic...so long as it's his monolith.

  • Sunday evening was spent trying to unwind from how mad that made me.

  • I was also fuming over the treatment Amy has been receiving from a truly horrid patron at the concert hall. He yells and rants, swears and becomes just short of physically violent. Listening to the description I wished I had been there...with a baseball bat.

  • You see, Sunday did not pass in a cloud of Holy Peace and Patience.

  • I have to work on that whole Christian forgiveness thing. Grrr.

  • Amy and I need to find some new restaurants. There's nothing wrong with the ones we go to, but some variety might be fun. On our days off, neither of us has the mental acuity to make a decision..."Where do you want to eat?" Someone screaming at you at work will do that to your brain. Pure oatmeal.

  • I like oatmeal. Amy is the baby of four kids. Growing up, she never got the Maple and Brown Sugar packets of Quaker Instant Oatmeal. Now I take deep pleasure in leaving those for her.

  • I enjoy watching Amy knit. I could never do it myself (no fine motor skills) but I find it relaxing...until she pulls apart a nearly-completed project. I can't watch that part.

  • I have trouble accepting that I'm a flawed creature. I tell other people, when they're beating up on themselves, that nobody is perfect. I tell them that God only expects us to try, and he also expects us to fail...but that's OK. When it comes to me, however, I keep kicking myself for not being better at (fill in the blank).

  • Don't get into a foot race with Jesus. He'll always win.

  • Lenten discipline becomes harder when you keep walking past the Cinnabon shop in the mall.

That's the quick, headline version of my news.

Oh, and a whole load of people have found my site by searching for "Canadian Tire Guy." So far nobody has joined the fan club. Perhaps I underestimated the level of hatred for this poor man.

|