previous

CPE So Far
May 12, 2006 - 7:26 p.m.

next

I've had one heck of a week in CPE. I've prayed with families as their loved ones went into emergency surgery, reassured strong men who were having trouble admitting their fears, and have seen more tears than I could ever have imagined. It's amazing how quickly people in trouble and pain accept the chaplain and how easily they draw us into their concerns and fears and hopes.

It's a huge privilege, to pray with people who are in crisis. We're invited to participate in the intimate relationship between humans and God. We stand with them in their greatest need and help them articulate a cry of despair, a joyful thanksgiving, a plea for mercy.

In just two week I've already met some truly wonderful people. Some of them require a bit of searching to find the wonderful parts...angry and vicious are the demons that lash out in pain. Even still, there's an admirable quality to that combativeness. And, of course, most people aren't so extreme. For every draining encounter there are a dozen uplifting ones, even when the person in question is physically hopelessly shattered. Nobility comes in unlikely packages.

Now it's the weekend and I truly understand TGIF. Even positive pastoral encounters take massive energy, and it's been too long since I've walked in High Park. I'll go tomorrow morning and post my pictures for you all.

I'd better do some dishes, too. There's a stack a mile high that's been there for a week or more. Yikes.

|