previous

Birds Returning to the Nest
May 23, 2006 - 6:57 p.m.

next

Not much to say...I feel rather boring, actually. Amy came home Sunday night, which was nice. That was exciting, but a) only for me and b) it's her trip, not mine. I went to pick her up at the airport, which is a trip in itself, but I have no adventures to tell of. While she was sleeping among Prairie Dogs and Coyotes, under the Big Sky of Saskatchewan, I was wrestling the cat for covers. She rode horseback in the Rockies, I rode the TTC in rush hour.

Jealous? Me? Naw!

Stupid CPE.

Amy was furiously knitting away yesterday, trying to catch up on an afghan that was too big to take on the tour, so I went to High Park alone. I took more bird pictures, including some more unknowns. To all the birders out there - help! I think I have some ideas about who's what, but I need some more knowledgeable opinions.

Barn Swallow in flightI did see some beautiful birds. At one point Barn Swallows were swirling around me, like I was the eye of a Barn Swallow hurricane. They rarely land, so snapping a picture became a real challenge. I only managed it once I figured out where the nest was. I actually did manage to catch a Barn Swallow in flight. It's blurry, but that's about what they look like as they whiz by.

That evening we had a lovely supper...Amy made a garlic chicken with yams (so, so good) and fiddle heads and rice. In contrast, on Sunday, the night she returned from a two-week van journey across Canada...I heated up a frozen pizza.

So cooking is not my strong suit.

|