previous

Dog Days and Donuts
May 31, 2006 - 9:47 p.m.

next

Ah, it's that time of year again. When the days are hot but the nights are still cool. When summer storms rumble and summer bugs aren't too bad yet. When the summer groove has just begun, when schools empty and parks fill up. When kids play in the sprinkler and adults gather on patios under the light of Tiki torches.

When last year's student loan money is drying up and the summer stretches out as one long, incomeless desert of panic. "I have how much left? Yikes!" I feel a bit like the cartoon character that opens his wallet only to see a moth fly out. Oy.

Part of the issue here is that foreign students can't get work permits. That is, they didn't used to be able to get work permits. I've heard that Ontario has introduced a special permit, which would allow me to get a part-time job - yay!

Of course it doesn't help me now...CPE is way too demanding (see previous entry about sleep issues) and besides, the new permit won't be available for a couple more months. Of course, when school starts again I'll be up to my ears in co-head duties. That leaves August in the clear. Maybe I'll get a job at Tim Horton's, just to say I've done it.

Meanwhile...

I'm kidding...sort of.

|