previous

Deep Blue Friend
June 22, 2006 - 6:55 p.m.

next

In a story about office supply theft: "Many employees do not view the taking of office supplies for personal use as stealing. They see it as 'taking things.'"

What we have here is a failure to communicate.


I spent a lot of time yesterday talking to a patient who feels abandoned and useless. We talked about his situation, his emotions and his life. He is dying and he knows it. He's deeply troubled and frustrated, angry at himself and the world. It was a rough visit.

As I got up to leave he said, "I am a scientist. I describe the universe with science. You're a minister. You describe the universe with religion. We're both working on the same problems. Maybe together we'll solve them." I agreed and took his outstretched hand. He held my grip and said, "You are a deep blue friend." When I asked what he meant he explained, "Water is clear on the top, but as you go deeper, what happens? It gets blue. The deeper you go, the bluer it gets. Deep blue is very far down, very deep."

A deep blue friend. That might be the nicest thing that anyone has ever said to me.

|