previous

The Heat of the Moment
July 15, 2006 - 3:54 p.m.

next

It's been ghastly hot the past few days here in Toronto...the sort of hot that makes you sweat just thinking about going outside. The sort of hot that renders ovens superfluous and makes people with air conditioners the most popular folks on the block. The sort of hot that doesn't fry eggs on the sidewalk...it vaporizes them. In the shell.

When the heat notches up like this the violence inevitably follows. Hot weather means hot heads. Stabbings, shootings and bodies turning up in garbage bags...these are summer days in the big city.

I just can't understand why. Sure, hot weather is miserable and makes me ornery, but it also saps any strength I might have. I couldn't get violent if I wanted to. I doubt I even have the energy to squeeze a trigger, let alone stab somebody. Having never tried either activity I can't say for sure, but I'm guessing that they're more work than I feel like doing when the heat index hits 38C (100F). Even if I was angry enough to kill somebody, I'd be all like, "Yeah, you're dead come autumn! As soon as it cools down I'm going to mess you up."

|