previous

Minding My Matter
September 28, 2006 - 12:25 p.m.

next

Getting out of bed this week has been an exercise in mind over matter. My Matter, located mostly in my legs, says "I ache like I've been run over by trucks. Let me sleep." My Mind says, "We have a class this morning." Matter answers, "Not till eleven. It's only 7am! I can sleep another hour or two." To which Mind replies, "Yes, but we really should be in chapel at 8:15. We're co-head, you know, and it's good form."

At this point Matter begins a slow churning of legs and arms, making vague motions to get up but really hoping Mind will go away and let it sleep. No dice. "Come on," says Mind, "You signed on for this. You think a rector gets to sleep in? Not a chance!"

Matter has some choice words to say about rectors setting the worship schedule and living across the churchyard from work rather than across town...but it manages to get up anyhow.

I guess being co-head is terrific training for being a parish priest. As I think I mentioned earlier, there's a lot of work between the work - answering questions, being present with people in crisis, stepping in to fill roles abandoned by someone else (this one is getting frustrating, and will be dealt with...you're all warned) and generally spending 14-hour days just keeping things in motion to facilitate everyone else's experience.

I do enjoy it, of course. Thrive on it, to be honest. But I have to cut down on the late nights...it's murder on my Matter, but also no fun in my personal life. Amy and I have seen less of one another these past three weeks than we used to when I lived in Milwaukee!

|