previous

Out of Gas
November 02, 2006 - 12:28 a.m.

next

I have never, in my entire life, been as tired as I was at the beginning of this week. I didn't feel like I was about to fall asleep; I felt like I was going to blow away like an empty, dried up husk.

Compounding the ACPO bed situation, I got home Sunday and tried to write a paper...no good. My brain was mush. But I couldn't just give up and go to bed - I had to write this paper...it's worth 25 percent of my grade.

Of course, most of what I wrote was worthless, so Monday night I was still at the computer. The problem with this is that I had a sermon to deliver on Tuesday. I'd thought about it, decided basically what to say, but hadn't given it the kind of attention I really wanted to. So the sermon ended up being sort of meh, just like the paper I managed to finish by 3:30am Tuesday morning.

Later that day I hit the wall. I sat in a meeting with the Dean and couldn't form a coherent thought to save my life. The poor man must have thought I was stoned. At lunch I said odd, disconnected things. A classmate let me crash in her dorm room while she was in class, and without that nap I sincerely believe I'd have fainted in the pulpit.

After evening chapel (and perhaps the least coherent sermon I've ever preached) I came home, watched a bit of TV and ate a snack, and then went to bed at 8:30pm. It was like I was seven all over again, but I needed it - I had to wake up early today, since I'm on worship team. Still sleepy, but a lot better.

So to bed I go...too late, but there it is.

|