previous

Lessons and Carols
December 09, 2006 - 12:06 a.m.

next

Rush, rush, rush. One of my profs saw me bustling about one day and said, "I want to challenge you not to hurry." Good advice, and I've since tried (often unsuccessfully) to follow it. Of course, the day he said it I had so much to do...so I thanked him and rushed off.

One of the things I'd been hurrying about lately was this evening's Advent Lessons and Carols. Bulletins to lay out, readers and acolytes to line up, candles to get ready, readings to print, food to buy for the post-party. I can't imagine if I'd been doing the whole thing...my fellow co-head, Marion, did her share, as did Paul, who conducted the choir, and Moses, who arranged the post-party. Still, on top of everything else at the end of term, it was just that one more thing that made today hectic.

So by the time we started I was just scattered. I didn't stop fluttering until Paul raised his hands to launch the choir into the Matins Responsory.

Then the singing began. Then the lessons were read. Then I looked out at the congregation, lit by the candles they were holding, the warm yellow glow on people's faces, reaching up the chapel walls. It was beautiful. As rushed as we'd all been, we gave our best to God...and it really did show.

If you've never been to an Advent Lessons and Carols service...go. Find a church that does it, one with a decent choir, and go. If you can find a place that does it by candlelight, no electricity whatsoever, all the better. Even if you're not Anglican...even if you're not Christian. Advent Lessons and Carols is simply, ethereally beautiful. It's one of the Anglican Church's great gifts to the world, and anyone with a love for beauty ought to experience it.

By the end of the service, I was in a very good place. The stress had washed away, the tension gone, replaced by God's peace.

Now I'm ready for Advent.

|