previous

The Second Big News This Year
February 04, 2007 - 5:49 p.m.

next

One of my spies has sent word that the official announcement has been made. I've known for a while now...for about three weeks, actually. I got a call from the archdeacon, then from the rector, then e-mails from the people who handle contracts and whatnot. And today the bishop's letter was read in the parish, so it's about as official as it gets.

On May 15th I will begin work at St. Jude's Anglican Church in Oakville, ON. I'll be a lay pastoral assistant for a couple of weeks and then, God willing, ordained to the diaconate on the Feast of Pentecost - May 27th.

It's a heck of a good place for a curacy, actually. The parish has a history of nurturing and challenging curates. The physical plant is beautiful, as is the neighbourhood, and the churchmanship (for what it matters these days) tends toward the Anglo-catholic but without the often-attendant preciousness. I'd go into superlatives about the rector there, one of the best-respected clergy in the Diocese of Niagara, except I happen to know he occasionally reads this blog and I don't want to be a suck-up.

Next month Amy and I will start searching for an apartment. We'd like to be near the downtown, within walking distance of shopping, the church and the GO station, if possible. If you're a landlord in downtown Oakville, drop me a line, eh?

I'd like to take this opportunity, first among many, to thank everyone who has contributed in any way to my journey thus far. To the people at All Saints' Cathedral in Milwaukee, thank you for nurturing an uncertain newcomer. To my family and friends, thank you for encouragement and understanding. To the faculty and staff and students at Trinity College, thank you for helping to form me for this new ministry. And most especially to Amy - thank you for your loving support and willingness to accompany me into the unknown.

And thanks be to God, the source of all these blessings, for patience with even the most unprofitable servant.

|