previous

Seventy-Seven Times
March 22, 2007 - 1:37 p.m.

next

A blog can be a terrible tool and right now I'm very tempted to use it in a less than Christian manner. I've written three entries now, all deleted and each less vicious than the one before. But all of them were meant as arrows, lashing out at someone who hurt me...who repeatedly hurts me. The fact that the person who hurts me is doing so in reaction to his own hurt doesn't make it any easier to take his barbs...but it does give me pause in posting.

Then Peter came and said to him, "Lord, if another member of the church sins against me, how often should I forgive? As many as seven times?" Jesus said to him, "Not seven times but, I tell you, seventy-seven times."

Some scholars think it should be "seventy times seven times," but I'm having enough trouble with the seventh. Well, by now it's seventeenth, but still...

Jesus is a hard guy to follow.

|