previous

Thou Shalt Not Covet
June 17, 2007 - 2:43 p.m.

next

Sigh.

I've spoken to two groups of people about Smart Cars. One group thinks they're terribly impractical and that I oughtn't buy one. No passenger space, no room for luggage or groceries, no pick-up and bad in winter. The other thinks they're splendid and that buying one is a great idea. One passenger is plenty (especially without kids...or many friends), you can load up a lot more groceries and luggage than you'd think, they scoot like mad and aren't any trouble in winter (at least not in super-densely populated southern Ontario...I'd not drive one to the Yukon).

The first group is composed of people who do not own Smart Cars. The second is composed of people who do. I suppose that's rather obvious. I talked to a Smart Car driving priest who does interim work, who drives all over the diocese, and he swears by them. Never had a bit of trouble. It doesn't hurt that the very thing Smart Cars are advertised as combating, global warming, has insured that winter is no longer very severe.

I just like the idea of spending $5 a week on gas.

|