previous

Da Bomb
April 01, 2005 - 2:21 p.m.

next

Yay! Cherry Bomb Coffee is open!

Cherry Bomb

For the past month I've been anxiously awaiting the opening of a new coffee shop, just half a block from the apartment. Down on the south end of Roncesvalles we're a little thin in the comfortable-place-to-have-coffee-and-read department. A walk further north gets one to some chain places (not the Evil Seattle Coffee Empire, but two friendlier Canadian versions) and a couple independent places.

But all of them require a small hike, and otherwise it's Coffee Time, down at the foot of the street. The problem with Coffee Time is that a) it's not at all cozy, and b) sitting there reading a Bible will get you some very odd attention...like a woman telling you that she's Mary, the mother of Our Lord. I really only go to Coffee Time for take-out donuts and when I can't sleep at 3am. (As their web site says, Coffee Time is any time.) Maybe it's going there at 3am that's the real problem...

What I'm saying, here, is that I wanted a nice, slightly snobby coffee shop that I didn't have to walk too far to get to. There, I've said it. I'm a coffee shop snob. Sometimes one simply cannot work at home, and I like having a regular hangout for those times. Back in Milwaukee I had the Blue Dawg...I've been looking for something here.

So Cherry Bomb opened today and Amy and I ducked in for a slice of Ontario sour cherry pie...yum! The owners are still working out the kinks, such as how much to charge for a slice of pie and how big a slice it will be, but that will sort itself out. I'm sure I'll be spending some quality time there, especially in the writing of my book.

|