previous

J.P. II
April 02, 2005 - 6:30 p.m.

next

Most of yesterday was spent checking the television, internet, radio...anything that might make mention of news from the Vatican.

Today Amy and I attended a Trinity Community Day event in Hamilton, an event which was quite interesting and engaging. During the Eucharist we heard bells tolling somewhere nearby. In a low voice I said to Amy, "The Pope has died." It was during the Old Testament reading, the calling of Samuel. "Here I am."

As poetically perfect as that would be, it was not the Pope's death that the bells announced, but rather a Saturday mass at the nearby Roman Catholic cathedral. If I look back to where I was when the Pope died at 2:37p.m. EST, it was the Hamilton GO Transit Centre...not poetic at all. I guess I could make some connection between transit and passing into the next world, but even my metaphorical equipment isn't up to that kind of a stretch.

I didn't find out about the Pope's death until I arrived home and checked the internet. After watching some television footage from Rome I put my jacket on and walked up the street to the Polish Credit Union, here on Roncesvalles. As one might imagine, the Pope was a popular guy in this neighbourhood. So popular that the credit union has a statue of him out front.

Statue

The statue is, of course, the site of much mourning and tribute and prayer. Candles, flowers, statues, rosaries...and always a handful of people, taking a few minutes to stop and reflect and pray. Praying for the departed man's soul, praying for the Roman Catholic church, praying for all of Christianity. I added my flowers and my prayers, stood for a while in the drizzle of an Ontario spring day, and trudged home.

I'm Anglican. I have no official connection to Rome and could easily live as if that branch of the church was no different than the Baptists or Lutherans. But, frankly, I don't think it is. Like it or not, the Roman Catholic Church is the largest Christian denomination, and the one with the best remaining claim to Apostolic supremacy. I don't buy that particular claim, but I have to honour the power that it does command. If we are to make any ecumenical progress, we're going to have to square with the notion of Rome.

Besides, today I pray for my brothers and sisters in faith who just happen to follow a different bishop than I do. I pray for people who have lost their spiritual guide, and are anxiously awaiting the election of his successor. They may look to Rome instead of Canterbury, but in the end we're all members of the same church.

Rest eternal grant to him, O Lord;
And let light perpetual shine upon him.

|