previous

For the Love of Pie
May 19, 2005 - 11:49 p.m.

next

Today I engaged in one of the occasional fruitless pursuits which prevent my life from being the fairy tale I'd like it to be. Today's task was to attend a seminar on immigration to, and working in, Canada...something I really wanted to attend. It was held at the International Student Centre on the U of T campus. I ought to have been there way in advance, as I usually am for such things. But no, I figured I could make it with half an hour travel time, which allowed me to join Amy for cherry pie at Cherry Bomb.

A big (but delicious) mistake.

Starting late, a bad estimate of distances and a street that changes names just around where I was going...well, I got lost and arrived late. Half and hour late for a two and a half hour seminar. Late and lost and irritated and sweating miserably - hey, I thought this country was supposed to be cold.

"Fine," I figured, "I'll slip in the back." I finally found my bearings, arrived at the ISC, and trotted up the walk through loose knots of students playing cricket on the lawn. I would be late, but hopefully I hadn't missed much.

In the lobby stood a sign - Immigration Seminar - Both Sessions Full

Well, that's what I get. Sweaty and annoyed and missing my meeting. Poop.

But the pie was delicious.

|