previous

Dinner and a Movie
December 04, 2005 - 12:54 p.m.

next

Round two voting is now underway at the Canadian Blog Awards. I'm in the final five for Best Religious Blog (category number 12 in the list) and you can vote once a day...

I'm just sayin'...


There's a sinking pit in my stomach, due to the knowledge that I'm going to have to buy a new computer. Oy, the queasy-uneasy sickness of it all. Oy, the cost and the time to get all my information loaded on it. Curse the weak shoulder strap that broke and dropped my bag on the pavement.

Oh, well.

That should not and could not obscure the pleasant day Amy and I had with Pan and Vive (to use some old nicknames) and the lovely evening at Amy's mum and dad's...sort of an early Christmas, late American Thanksgiving, Aaron's birthday dinner. It was delicious, and there is now a pile of delicious leftovers in the fridge.

Well, they're not in a pile. They're in individual containers and everything.

This morning we had a film crew in church, filming the choir for a documentary. Sadly this particular crew was unaware that their film was not the most important thing happening at St. Anne's this morning. Nor were they aware of basic notions like "off stage."

This happens with film and TV people...they think that if they're not in the shot nobody can see them. However, nobody in the congregation was watching on TV - they were there in person and could easily see the ratty crew lounging about next to the pulpit during the sermon. I imagine everyone also caught when one of the crew leaned way out to see around the pulpit and waved signals to the cameraman.

I felt it would be inappropriate for me to go over the interim priest's head and yell at them myself. As he did nothing we were all distracted from the sermon and treated to a dumb show of "No, no, close-up, pan left."

Needless to say I was thinking some very un-Christian thoughts (mostly about the administering of bodily harm) through most of today's Eucharist.

Sigh.

|