previous

All in All, It's Just Another Hole in the Wall
May 04, 2007 - 11:22 p.m.

next

I am engaged in a mighty struggle, a relentless attack on an immovable foe. My weapon - a Makita cordless drill. My enemy - the wall.

Whoever built this apartment building was clearly labouring under the assumption of an impending nuclear attack. The walls, at least the ones that outline the apartment, are solid concrete and (I can only assume) fifty feet thick. Honestly, if our neighbour went all Sherlock Holmes and started shooting at the wall, we'd be fine.

While it's good to know that we won't be hit by stray bullets (or radiation) these walls are putting me in a difficult position with regards to artwork. As those who helped me move can confirm, we have a number of large framed pictures. One of these, a 40"x40" aerial view of Milwaukee, is destined to hang in the dining "room" (more of a nook). It's a destiny that has yet to be fulfilled.

This is all I was able to manage - a yawning chasm too shallow for any wall anchor or screw or nail that would hold the weight of the picture. This is what's so frustrating - I can manage to open the hole side to side but somehow cannot drill more than an inch in. I tried a molly screw, a dangerous-looking contraption of metal, but they're all either too wide or too long. All I've gained is one big hole and a pile of concrete dust. Fortunately, Amy's pa is coming over tomorrow with a hammer drill and concrete bits. This wall won't know what hit it.

Because it's an inanimate object.

On a happier front, I've finished painting one shelf and am on to the second. Amy and I bought an office table yesterday, which will eventually be set up to stick out into the middle of the room from between the two shelves, thus making a desk accessible from both sides. Finally, an office! I know, not exactly spine-tingling excitement, but it makes me happy.

Meanwhile, graduation draws ever closer. Classes have been finished for a while now, and all my papers are in (and graded), but it won't be official until Tuesday, 8pm. Or maybe 9pm, by the time we finish. I'm having a bit of trouble believing that I'm done. I came to Canada in August of 2004. Here I am in May of 2007, an MDiv completed and a job waiting. Oy.

I'm beginning to think my body got sick (or dizzy, whatever) on purpose. It forced me to do what I hadn't done for months...rest.

|