previous

How I Spent My Summer Vacation
July 23, 2004 - 8:44 p.m.

next

I started packing too soon.

I have a mound of boxes in the middle of my tiny apartment...if I go much higher the ceiling fan will clip them.

While it was too soon to pack, the move is still quite close. In one month's time I'll be crossing the border with all my worldly goods. It's surreal sometimes...it's one of those things you know will happen soon but seems so far-off.

Maybe it's that end-of-summer phenomenon. When I was a kid I'd waste my summer doing nothing, always saying to myself "I'll get to that next month. Lots of time." Soon next month became next week, and next week vanished. Before I knew it, it was the Sunday before school started and I was trying to squeak in just a few more hours of freedom.

Oh, how times have changed. This summer I can't wait for classes to start...I'm anxious to begin this new chapter. But most of all I'll be closing the 600-mile gap between Amy and I. It's been a long summer, and it'll be so very good to be with her.

|